North Thailand Mission Trip Testimony

11 01 2009

I thank God for giving me the opportunity to go on this mission trip. Every single time I am serving God on mission trips, my guiding principle would be based on Matthew 5:13-16: “Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost its savour, wherewith shall it be salted? it is therefore good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men. Ye are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father, which is in heaven.” Despite my numerous times in Thailand, I was very expectant to what God Himself would teach me through this particular mission trip. At the same time, I was very happy to see many first-timers coming on this mission trip, especially the youths/young adults like Marcus, Daniel, Jaime, Jasmine, Jolynn, Alicia, Aisin and Candice. This mission trip was also a chance to catch up with the various members of Lighthouse Church.

For this mission trip, God has not only used me to be a blessing to other people by bringing the Gospel to them but also has blessed me by teaching me some important lessons. During the duration of this mission trip, God taught me about the importance of prayers. It was on Dec 24 (Wed) when the East Team had a night program. The night program was going to start when there was very loud music from the neighbouring house. Bro. Nathaniel gathered the team to pray and God immediately answered our prayers that the music would be switched off. For the next night (Dec 25), half an hour before the start of the night program, there appeared to be only a handful of people gathered to watch the night program. The team once again gathered to pray and by the time we finished praying and went outside the house, we could see more and more people coming for the night program. In addition, I have also learned to trust God that He is ultimately in control of every single detail and not to worry too much!

I was also going through the book of Hebrews for this mission trip and the verses that really spoke to me were from Chapter 12 verses 28 and 29 which says, “Wherefore we receiving a kingdom which cannot be moved, let us have grace, whereby we may serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear: For our God is a consuming fire.” These verses reminded me of how I should serve God with reverence and godly fear in whatever ministry or service I am involved in.

I pray that God would keep that particular lesson about the importance of prayer no matter how big or how small the matter or issue can be as I come back to a completely different environment and atmosphere in Singapore. Another major lesson which I also learned was that I should have complete trust in God, especially as I exercise patience in waiting upon God regarding Him putting into action His Will for my life.

I urge all of you to keep the ministry of Lighthouse Church in your daily prayers. My earnest prayer is that more people would be willing to put their words into action by being involved in mission teams to Chiang Mai and beyond in Thailand. To God be all glory and honour to His name!

Actions

Information

One response

8 08 2009
Nathaniel Heng

Just got a chance to read your testimony. Brought back good memories of that trip and how God saw us through. We’re planning our 4th trip there on 28 Sep – 1 Oct 2009. Pray with us as for who gets to go.

Leave a Reply

